Friday, October 11, 2013

Nabapatrika Puja: Worshipping The Holy Plants

Nabapatrika is the worship of the leaves of nine plants during Durga Puja. Navapatrika day is also known as Maha Saptami. This ritual is done as a method to invoke the Goddess using the nine plants as the living medium. Read on to know more... 

Maa Durga

Navapatrika Puja is a widely followed ritual in West Bengal, which goes by the name Kolabou puja or Nabapatrika. The nine different leaves of the plants that are used for worship are -
  • Banana leaf or Plantain 
  • Kachu or Kachvi
  • Turmeric 
  • Wood Apple (Bilva)
  • Barley
  • Pomegranate
  • Asoka
  • Manaka
  • Rice paddy or Dhanya 

Click here for - Durga Puja Greetings

Significance Of Each Plant

Banana stem or Plantain: This leaf represents a Brahmin
Kachu or Kachvi: This leaf represents Maha Kali
Turmeric: This plant represents Maa Durga
Bilva: This plant represents Lord Shiva. 
Barley: This plant represents Karttika
Pomegranate: This plant represents Raktadantika
Asoka: This plant represents Sokarahita
Manaka: This plant is also known by the name Arum which represents Chamunda
Dhanya: This plant represents Lakshmi

Rituals Followed During Navapatrika Puja

Navapatrika means nine plants in Sanskrit. Firstly, the Navapatrika are given a ceremonial bath. After which they are wrapped using a orange or red color cloth and placed on a wooden plank next to the idol of Goddess Durga. 

Navapatrika Puja or Mahasaptami begins with the mahasnan. Maha snan is performed by placing a mirror in front of the idol or image of Goddess Durga. Further, this reflection of Goddess Durga is given a holy bath or Maha snan. After the bath, the idol is decorated with new cloth, flowers and jewelry. The Puja ceremonies are conducted with recital of Durga mantra and slokas. Finally, the puja comes to an end with the offering of Devi Bhog and Aarti. 

Click here to know more about Durga puja - Durga Puja Rituals

No comments: