Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Difference Between Vedic Astrology & Chinese Astrology

Vedic Astrology & Chinese Astrology are two ancient arts, though both are being studied and dealt with Astrology, their approach is quite different. This article tells you the difference between the two, Vedic Astrology and Chinese Astrology.

Vedic Astrology

Vedic Astrology is one of the oldest systems of Astrology. Vedic Astrology (which is also known as “Jyotish Shastra”) comprises Ganitha (astronomy) and Phalita (astrology). In Vedic astrology, the position of planets and constellations are used for calculations and predictions.

In Vedic astrology, the complete zodiac cycle is divided into 12 signs or Rashis of 30 degrees each. They are:


This is further divided into 27 Nakshatras (constellations), each with a span of 13.20 degrees. They are:

Ashwini, Bharani, Krittika, Rohini, Mrigashira, Aridra, Punarvasu, Pushya, Ashlesha, Magha, Poorva Phalguni, Uttara Phalguni, Hasta, Chitra, Swati, Vishakha, Anuradha, Jyestha, Moola, Purva Ashadha, Uttar Ashadha, Sravana, Dhanishta, Satabisha, Purva Bhadra, Uttara Bhadra, Revati.

In Vedic astrology there are a total of 16 types of horoscopes which are collectively known as Shodashvarga. Each type of horoscope represent different aspect of life. They are as follows:

  1. Rashi or the Lagna or Birth chart = All aspects of life.
  2. Hora or one-half of a sign = Wealth.
  3. Drekkana or one-third of a sign = Siblings.
  4. Chaturthamsha or one-fourth of a sign = Destiny and Fixed Assets.
  5. Saptamsha or one-seventh of a sign = Progeny.
  6. Navamsa or one-ninth of a sign = Spouse and many other things.
  7. Dashamsa or one-tenth of a sign = Career and Profession.
  8. Dwadashamsha or one-twelfth of a sign = Parents.
  9. Shodashamsha or one-sixteenth of a sign = Conveyance.
  10. Vimshamsha or one-twentieth of a sign = Spiritual Progress.
  11. Chaturvimshamsha or one-twenty fourth of a sign = Knowledge.
  12. Saptavimshamsha or one-twenty seventh of a sign = Strength.
  13. Trimshamsha or one-thirtieth of a sign = Misfortunes and Characteristics.
  14. Khavedamsha or one-fortieth of a sign = Auspicious and Inauspicious effects.
  15. Akshavedamsha or one-forty fifth of a sign = For all areas of life.
  16. Shashtyamsha or one-sixtieth of a sign = For all general effects. 

With the main classifications of Vedic astrology discussed, let’s move onto Chinese Astrology and know a bit about it. 

Chinese Astrology

The main stand out point of Chinese Astrology from that of Vedic Astrology is the symbols of zodiac signs. While Vedic Astrology has a variety of symbols representing the zodiac signs, Chinese Astrology on the other hand has 12 different animals representing each of the zodiac signs. They are:

Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Sheep, Monkey, Rooster, Dog, Pig. 

Chinese Astrology revolves around the five elements - metal, wood, water, fire and earth; and is based on the details obtained during the birth of a person. A Chinese calendar is a single 60 years calendar and follows a 12 year cycle. Each year is assigned to an animal and 2014 is the ‘Year of the Horse’. 

To know how the year is going to favor you, click here - Chinese Horoscope 2014 Astrology Predictions

Let’s know more about the characteristics of the 12 animals representing the Chinese cycle.

Rat: 11 pm to 1 am - This is the time rats actively seek food.
Ox: 1 to 3 am - This is the time that oxen ruminate.
Tiger: 3 to 5 am - Tigers hunt prey and display their fiercest nature.
Rabbit: 5 to 7 am - Based on tales, the jade rabbit on the moon was busy pounding medicinal herb with a pestle.
Dragon: 7 to 9 am - Dragons were said to hover in the sky at that time to give people rainfall.
Snake: 9 to 11 am - Snakes start to leave their burrows.
Horse: 11 am to 1 pm - The day is flourishing with the sun high above. Other animals are lying down for a rest while the unconstrained horse is still vigorous.
Sheep: 1 to 3 pm - It was said that if sheep ate grass at this time, they would grow stronger.
Monkey: 3 to 5 pm - Monkeys become lively.
Rooster: 5 to 7 pm - Roosters return to their roost as it is dark;
Dog: 7 to 9 pm - Dogs begin to carry out their duty to guard entrances.
Pig: 9 to 11 pm - All is quiet and pigs are sleeping soundly.

With the individual discussions about Vedic Astrology and Chinese Astrology over, let’s now know the difference between them.

Chinese Astrology
Vedic Astrology
1. Zodiac signs represented by animal

2. While Chinese astrology utilizes 5 element to represent the zodiac cycle

3. The five elements are - earth, fire, wood, water and metal

4. Chinese astrology uses the details at the time of birth to do the predictions
1. Zodiac signs represented by varied symbols

2. Vedic astrology uses only 4 elements for the same

3. The four elements are - water, earth, fire and air

4. While Vedic astrology uses the details of the position of the planets at the time of birth to do the predictions
The above mentioned are some of the major differences between Vedic Astrology and Chinese Astrology. Be it Vedic or Chinese, if the predictions make you happy, then there is nothing else to worry about.

No comments: