Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Exaltation & Debilitation of Planets: Astronomical Reasons and Logics

Exaltation and debilitation of planets
By Mrityunjai Ojha

In astrology, we usually discuss about planets’ exaltation (Uchcha) and debilitation (Neecha). Most of the people and astrologers do not know the logic and reason behind this; like - why Saturn got debilitated in Aries (Mars), but Mars exalted in Capricorn (Saturn) as both these are enemies; Venus got debilitated in Virgo, but Venus and Mercury are good friends; and many more. In the sign of exaltation, the planet functions freely as per its true nature and delivers positive results in our life. But, in the sign of debilitation, the planet cannot function freely because the nature of sign does not support with the nature of planets. Only Mercury is the planet who has the same sign for exaltation, Virgo which is ruled by Mercury itself; otherwise rest of the planets and their signs of exaltation are different from the signs that are ruled by those planets.  Every planet gets debilitation in opposite sign of their exaltation. Here, we will try to find out the reason for exaltation and debilitation of planets in different signs.

Sun:  Sun gets exalted in Aries and debilitated in Libra on 10 degree. As we know, Sun denotes the fire element. Though Mars also denotes the fire, but Sun denotes fire and soul both. Aries is a cardinal sign with fire element. So, when Sun is in Aries, Sun’s fire gets support with sign’s fire and it gives the best direction to Sun for using the fire element like strong will, ambition, determination and leadership, to name a few. On the higher level, Sun in Aries gives independence, clarity, strong judgment and high values.

On other hand, when Sun is placed in Libra, Libra denotes air element and here the energy of Sun is being uncontrolled like fire in a forest, that will destroy everything. Being uncontrolled, it gives materialistic pleasures, like a King who is using his power to get pleasures only. So here, Sun is weak and it will give arrogant nature, poor perception, lack of intelligence, low vitality and dishonesty.

Moon: Moon gets exalted in Taurus and debilitated in Scorpio sign on 3 degrees. Moon represents water (Emotion) and Taurus is a fixed sign with Earth element. When water flows through Earth, it will fertile the Earth and all living things; like we give water to plants. Taurus is a fixed sign, which will control the water of Moon and will give firm, stable and determined nature to the native. The native will balance the emotion and relations.

Scorpio  is a fixed sign, but with water element.  When Moon is placed in Scorpio, water of Moon and Scorpio produce excess  of water like flood, which destroy everything due to unbalanced emotions. Such kind of native becomes over emotional, less will powered, which shows the personality disorders, difficulties in relating to other people and emotional disturbances. But, this is good for occult practitioners and Yogis.

Mars: Mars also represents fire element. The exalted sign for Mars is Capricorn, which is a cardinal sign with earth element. The degree of exaltation is 28 degrees. In Capricorn, Mars’s fire element is being controlled due to earth element of Capricorn Sign, and a controlled fire can be used for good purpose. So, Mars gives excellent results here.

Mars gets debilitated in Cancer, which is also a cardinal sign; but with water element. The water of Cancer kills the fire element of Mars. This is like throwing a burning coal in the water. So, the native may be coward, impotent etc.

Mercury: Mercury is known for intelligence and analytical skills, a messenger etc. Virgo is the exalted sign for Mercury. The degree of exaltation is 15 degrees. Virgo is dual sign type with earth element. Mercury in Virgo creates the perfect balance between duality and its ethereal qualities; and the practicality or solidity of the earth element.

Mercury gets debilitated in Pisces which is also dual sign with water element. Pisces’s water element revolves the analytical intellect of Mercury in a whirlpool of misplaced emotions and impractical ideas. Native with debilitated Mercury are confused and unable to execute their talent properly.

Jupiter: Jupiter is exalted in Cancer which is a cardinal sign with water element. The degree of exaltation is 5 degrees. Jupiter is the planet of knowledge and wisdom. In Cancer, Jupiter flows his knowledge and intelligence with water of Cancer.

In Capricorn, Jupiter gets debilitated. Capricorn is cardinal sign with earth element, which does not allow Jupiter to flow his knowledge and the native becomes egoistic, materialistic, self-centered person. So, here Jupiter can not work as per his nature.

Venus: Venus is exalted in Pisces. The degree of exaltation is 27 degrees, Venus is a planet with water element. Pisces is a dual sign with water element. Venus in Pisces signifies infinite love and our infinite appreciation of beauty and passion. Pisces is the sign of Jupiter. So here, Venus controls the love and sensual pleasures and move toward spirituality.

Venus is debilitated in Virgo, which is also a dual sign with earth element. This earth element of debilitated Venus limits us to the pleasure of our senses only. The native seeks sensual pleasures and becomes materialistic.

Saturn: Saturn is exalted in Libra, which is a cardinal sign with air element. In Libra, Sun’s fire is being uncontrolled, but Saturn signifies air element. So, in this sign, air flows freely. The excess air with Saturn in Libra allows Saturn to manifest its highest qualities in our life. Exalted Saturn can make us really free from our fear of the limitation of the material realm in our life.
Saturn is debilitated in Aries, which is a cardinal sign with fire element. In Aries, Saturn’s air connects with fire and that fire makes disaster and causes poverty, deprivation and desire. It will keep us in bondage and will take away all our vitality on a physical or mental level.

Rahu & Ketu: There are controversies in exaltation and debilitation signs of these two lunar nodes. Rahu is more like Saturn and has air element. Ketu is more like Sun and Mars, and has fire element. Astrologers do not have clear agreements on the signs of exaltation and debilitation of these two planets, some says it is ‘Taurus and Scorpio’ and other says ‘Gemini and Sagittarius’. But, Rahu-Ketu gives good results in these signs.


Deepa Raj said...

well explained!

Rajendra Atreya said...

Good, also explain about mool trikona and own houses.Thanks

sagar9 said...

Dear Sir , Please explain neechbhang rajyog. It's a humble request.
Sagar Bidlan.